## **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

## Donald E. Rankey Jr. Officially Beings His Term as Delaware County Treasurer

**DELAWARE, Ohio (Sept. 22, 2021)** – The third time was the charm.

Donald E. Rankey Jr. was recently sworn in as the Delaware County treasurer for the third and final time since he was elected in November.

Judge Craig R. Baldwin of the Fifth District Court of Appeals swore in Rankey, who is now serving his term as the officially elected treasurer of Delaware County.

It was the last of three swearing-in ceremonies for Rankey.

Unforeseen events required three swearing-in ceremonies.

- Former Treasurer Jon Peterson died in October 2019.
- Michael Ringle was elected by the Republican Central Committee to replace Peterson.
- Rankey won the November election when he ran unopposed. In accordance with Ohio law, he was to begin serving his term Sept. 1.
- Ringle resigned in February to accept a position in the county auditor's office.

Rankey's first swearing-in occurred March 1, when he was named interim treasurer to replace Ringle.

The second swearing-in occurred March 22. This enabled him to complete the unfulfilled term of Peterson's 2016 election victory.

The Sept. 3 swearing-in officially marked the beginning of the Donald Rankey era at the treasurer's office.

"I'm glad that the term has officially begun, but nothing will change in the operation of the office," Rankey said. "We've instituted new programs and procedures over the past six months that have greatly improved the operation of the office. This will be a seamless transition from the public's perspective."

The accomplishments achieved during Rankey's brief tenure include:

- Creation of a Revenue Recovery Division to collect delinquent property taxes;
- Creation of a bond fund to assist local entities and bring greater financial returns for the Delaware County taxpayers; and
- ➤ Collection of \$659 Million in property taxes.

After being sworn in, Rankey swore in the members of his staff. They are: Chief Deputy Treasurer Jessica Bendle, Senior Deputy Treasurer Dawn Borchers, Chief Deputy Treasurer Doug Crew, Director of Revenue Recovery Jeff Jordan, Chief Investment Officer Rick Karr, Deputy Treasurer Jeff Rike, Deputy Treasurer Brittany Roberts, Deputy Treasurer Molly Wittington, and Deputy Treasurer Tricia Wolfe.

###